In most things I find that I love the traditional and the experimental: art, music, food, theatre.  Am I then an extremist?  Content at either end of the spectrum?  Or am I just still trying to find my place.  Does it matter?  Probably not.

Anyway…Today I finished my little flower embroidery.  It looks very traditional, I think.  I used split stitch for the branch/stem (whatever it is?) and raised fishbone stitch for the leaves.  I refered to my favourite embroidery book “Mary Thomas’s Dictionary of Embroidery Stitches“, to find stitches I thought would work well.  I found this book at a bargain basement bookstore for AU $16.95.  It said it was reduced from $35.  But having just linked to the Amazon version it seems as if it’s pretty cheap there too!

So here’s my flower.

What I would like to do, is back it somehow, stiffen it and turn it into a brooch for my Mum.  That would be one Christmas present down.  Mum and I had a conversation yesterday about maybe having a cuppa at a cafe together and doing some Christmas shopping.  We later amended that to having a cuppa in a cafe and reminiscing about when we used to go christmas shopping.

