I guess I had unconsciously intended to make handmade gifts for the family, and it seems as if they might even expect them after the last few years.  Mum said to me a couple of weeks ago, “So, how are you going with all your handmade gifts?”.  Gulp.  I just haven’t been able to settle on what to make and the weeks have flown by so fast that in the end there has been no time to knit or embroider for anyone.

So…luckily, last week I found a flyer, in the outback toliet of a cafe, advertising a free recycled bookbinding workshop run by the lovely Carli Hyland.  It was lots of fun.  I learnt a few techniques and then put a book together for my sister, yesterday.

imga0696

imga0698

 

It’s sort of half recycled.  The pages are from a sketch book and some pastel drawing paper.  The “hard cover” was made from a box in which my MIL has sent us Christmas cake, and the cover I made myself. 

The cover is made from various lengths of thread and ribbon and beads,  sandwiched between a sheet of cheesecloth and a sheet of …Hmm..what do you call that two tone stiff kind of see through material?…all stuck together with watered down PVA glue.    I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out.  I think I got the idea from the Cloth, Scissors, Paper website

And this morning…another handmade gift.  Shortbread for my Dad.  I have a pretty rusty baking tray.  I think next christmas I might be asking for one of those flashy silicone ones.

imga0703

So, there we go.  I have made some handmade gifts this year. The other members of the family will have to make do with store bought pressies.  I hope they dont’ weep too much.

