Sometimes you just need to scrub the board clean and start again.  Now I’m not saying these samples of chicken scratch are anything stupendous.  But they are an improvement, and, more to the point, I think I’m heading in the right direction now.

The one done in green perle thread is playing with knotting in the middle of some of the base thread, rather than lacing at the edges.  I don’t think it’s entirely successful – probably needs more thought given to the type of “knots” – I just buttonholed them.

imga0765

The next two sample are done with one strand of linen thread.  They are both the same design but the base stitches are made on different coloured squares.   It’s interesting to me how circling the white square and having the stars on the dark green square (in the second sample) has made the design look more delicate – to my eyes, anyway.

imga0758

imga0759

