It’s a really cold Spring day in Sydney.  The sky is grey.  The rain is pelting down and I have nothing better to do than finish my Airy Cardigan by Therese Chynoweth from interweave knits  Winter 2004.  I’m happy.

cardi closed good

I’m really pleased with the way it turned out.  Particularly because it was really difficult to measure the body and armhole length as I was knitting it – the fabric was so stretchy! 

cardi open - good

 I think I like the cardi worn open.  It will be good for cool Summer nights.  It was quite difficult to choose buttons for it.  They needed to be really light so that they wouldn’t weigh the fabric down.  I longed to use vintage glass ones from my Grandmother’s stash.  But alas, though they looked like  raindrops they felt like sinkers.

IMGA0083

In the end I went to the local Lincraft today and bought some “not too bad ones”.  I’ll keep looking for some nicer ones though.  The yarn was a christmas gift from my Sister – Annie Blatt fine kid.  I think this pattern is simple enough to handle the variagated colourway.  Big thanks to my Sister.

