One thing about doing a lot of embroidery in a workspace of  public places,  is that the work itself has to be small in scale.  So lately I’m thinking about components.  Components and needle lace.

image

This is a small piece worked in a circle using pins to hold the outline.  I love how it starts off as a circle, gets all out of shape when it gets pulled around with the filling stitch…

image

And then transforms back into a circle again when the edging is done.  Please note the teapot,  a vital piece of my cafe style work environment.

image

I think the three circles together would look good linked as a necklace.

There is a lot to learn about needle lace and I found  great instructions here at the lacemakers lace site.  Which just happens to be an Australian site, I found out after browsing through the pages.   I haven’t used the traditional method , as you can see.  But I find using pins on a material covered foam base supportive enough for small shapes.

