image

 

It’s taken me months to finish this plain weave scarf with some brooks lace at the ends. It is a present for the lovely woman who gifted us her time and photographic skill earlier this year.  We now have beautiful photos of our little family.

I wanted to make her something because I know she appreciates the time and effort that goes into something hand made.  But I didn’t realise that I would have so little time to craft with a 2 and 1/2 year old developing at his own, very fast, pace!

I also had always thought of weaving as a quiet craft. But guess what?! It’s terribly noisy!  For weeks I tried to do some work on this while he slept but every time the clatter of the heddle locking into place would wake him up.

So it’s taken a long time….I hope she likes it.

Oh…it’s mainly linen yarn with a couple of strands of merino in the weft.  It was the first time I’ve worked with linen and I really liked it.  The yarn itself was spun pretty loosely, was thick and thin and had a few soft tufts in it.   I have always thought of linen yarn as being incredibly fine and smooth. I wonder why that is?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

